Hello,

So actually, it’s just Sruthi here because…umm…my brother’s allergic to peanuts and he didn’t really help with this recipe. I know, he doesn’t know what he’s missing.

I never ate a lot of peanut butter when I was younger. I didn’t really like the taste and preferred cloyingly sweet strawberry jam to salty nut butters on toast. Yeah, I was not the kind of kid who inhaled PB&J for my elementary years. Once my brother was born, we found that he was allergic to peanuts (and milk…and eggs…and coconut. Luckily those all passed.) That was the end of my peanut butter days for good.

Somewhere along the way, peanut butter showed up again. It might have been in one of the pre-packaged field trip lunches. You know, the ones that taste ten times better than they actually are because you’re starving and all you could think of while looking at old paintings was food? Yeah. Those. This time, I loved it. I couldn’t get enough. The times I didn’t pack a lunch and got the high-quality (kidding) meals at school? Peanut butter. And when I was at my friends’ houses and it was snack time? PB all the way.

For the longest time though , I’d never actually tasted a peanut butter cookie since my mother banned the substance in our house since Susanth was born. It’s also not a sweet that many people seem to make for the public. When I first made these, and I’m not exaggerating, I might have let out a squeal. They’re just that good. I love how the peanut butter keeps the cookies from geting too sweet, which is something I’m picky about.

It is a pretty basic peanut butter cookie recipe, but it’s jazzed up with chocolate chips and chopped up peanut butter cups. So it’s maybe not truly double peanut butter cup. I liked the name, okay? They bake up really soft, but they are chewy once cool. These were a big hit with my friends, and I hope you all love them too.

Another bonus? They’re really easy to make.

Double Peanut Butter Cup Cookies
Makes  24 small cookies, or 18 medium

Slightly adapted from here

1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
1 1/3 cup all purpose flour
a pinch of salt
1 tsp baking soda
1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup mini peanut butter cups, chopped
Whole mini peanut butter cups (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a cookie sheet (or two, depending on the size) with parchment.

Whisk together flour, salt, and baking soda and set aside. Cream butter, peanut butter and sugars until light and fluffy. (This takes about 3 minutes with a hand mixer.) Beat in egg and vanilla until smooth.

Add flour mixture and mix until combined. Fold in chocolate chips and chopped peanut butter cups. Roll dough into one-inch balls and place on baking sheet. Flatten slightly with your fingers. If desired, press a whole peanut butter cup into the top of each cookie. Bake for 10-12 minutes and cool completely before eating.

Enjoy!

–Sruthi

